The Timothy Oke Award

The Timothy Oke Award for Original Research in the Field of Urban Climatology is given annually to one or several individuals at an early to mid-career stage, when they achieve individual visibility and impact, develop and broaden the scope of their research topics and demonstrate leadership. For the recipients, this award provides a prestigious endorsement of their research trajectory. The IAUC Awards committee will recommend annually to the IAUC Board recipients of the Timothy Oke Award. The IAUC Awards committee can elect not to give an award in a given year. The award is named in honour of Professor Timothy Oke, as recognition of his outstanding research career, his support for young urban climatologists and his unprecedented contributions to both urban climatology and the establishment of the IAUC.

The IAUC is committed to promoting equality and diversity. As such, the guidelines for this award are that candidates should be approximately 3-12 years after PhD, but nominations for candidates who fall outside these guidelines due to career breaks or non-conventional career paths will also be considered, providing they are justified. All nominations will be assessed according to career stage. The Timothy Oke Award can be given for a particularly relevant study, a collection of papers or continuous work on a relevant topic with high impact on the field. It should be given for research that was conducted after the PhD. The award should reflect the diversity of the membership in terms of regions, gender, and disciplines. As the IAUC membership is currently dominated by those in early- and mid-career stages, it is envisaged that there could be many eligible recipients in the first few years. Therefore, the IAUC Awards Committee will select up to three awardees each year.

Previous winners

2022 Prof. Dan Li, Boston University, USA. Citation
2021 Prof. Benjamin Bechtel, Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany & Prof. Leena Järvi, University of Helsinki, Finland & Dr Iain D. Stewart,Global Cities Institute, University of Toronto, Canada. Citation
2020 Prof. Scott Krayenhoff, University of Guelph, Canada & Prof. Chao Ren, Faculty of Architecture at the University of Hong Kong. Citation