Call for nominations – 2022 Timothy Oke Award

2022-04-20 in Awards, IAUC Admin, IAUC Statements

Urban Heat island of Hamilton, Ontario measured by Professor Timothy Oke and his students in the 1960s. The Award is named in honour of Professor Oke, as recognition of his pioneering research, his support for young urban climatologists and his unprecedented contributions to urban climatology.

The IAUC is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the 2022 ‘Timothy Oke Award for Original Research in the Field of Urban Climatology’. The Timothy Oke Award was established in 2020 and is given annually to early- and mid-career researchers who have conducted original research with high impact in the field of urban climate science. Nominations should thus focus on a particularly relevant study or collection of papers and their impact. Eligible candidates should be approximately 3-12 years after PhD and will be assessed in accordance with their career stage. Nominations for candidates which fall outside these guidelines should be justified.

The IAUC is committed to promoting equality and diversity. Therefore we particularly encourage nominations for suitable candidates from under-represented groups.

The person making the nomination will act as the coordinator to put together a nomination package (details given below). Self-nominations are not permitted, and current Awards Committee members can only be nominated if they step back from their role on the Committee for the period that the nomination is active. Complete nomination packages should be submitted (as a single electronic submission) to the IAUC Awards Committee Chair, Dr Helen Ward: by Friday 27 May 2022.

Timothy Oke Award Nomination Process:

  • Inform the Awards Committee Chair of the intent to nominate an individual.The intent to nominate should be communicated via email to the Awards Committee Chair by Friday 27 May 2022.
  • Nomination materials should be collected by the coordinator (i.e. the person notifying the Awards Committee Chair that a particular individual will be nominated).
  • The coordinator should collect and submit the following documentation in a single pdf file:
  • a one-page cover letter from the nomination coordinator (optional)
  • a three‐page candidate‐CV
  • three letters of recommendation (of no more than two pages in length) from IAUC members from at least two different countries. The nomination coordinator can, but does not have to, provide one of the letters of recommendation. Any individual providing a letter of support should do so for a maximum of one candidate for the Timothy Oke Award in each year.
  • Complete packages should reach the Awards Committee Chair by Friday 24 June 2022.

The IAUC Awards committee will then recommend the names of up to three recipients for consideration and approval by the IAUC Board. Nominations made this year will only be considered for the 2022 award but can be updated and resubmitted in subsequent years.

Previous winners of the Timothy Oke Award:

  • 2021 Professor Benjamin Bechtel, Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany
  • 2021 Associate Professor Leena Järvi, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • 2021 Dr Iain Stewart, Global Cities Institute, University of Toronto, Canada
  • 2020 Assistant Professor Scott Krayenhoff, University of Guelph, Canada
  • 2020 Associate Professor Chao Ren, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.