Call for nominations – 2021 Timothy Oke Award

2021-04-08 in Awards

The Award is named in honour of Professor Timothy Oke, as recognition of his outstanding research career, his support for young urban climatologists and his unprecedented contributions to both urban climatology and the establishment of the IAUC.

The IAUC is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the 2021 ‘Timothy Oke Award for Original Research in the Field of Urban Climatology’. The Timothy Oke Award was established in 2020 and is given annually to early- and mid-career researchers who have conducted original research with high impact in the field of urban climate science.

Nominations should thus focus on a particularly relevant study or collection of papers and their impact. Eligible candidates should be approximately 3-12 years after PhD and will be assessed in accordance with their career stage. Nominations for candidates which fall outside these guidelines should be justified.

The IAUC is committed to promoting equality and diversity. Therefore we particularly encourage nominations for suitable candidates from underrepresented groups.

The note of intent to nominate an individual bis due by Friday 28 May 2021. Complete nomination packages should then be submitted (as a single electronic submission) by Friday 25 June 2021 to the IAUC Awards Committee Chair, Dr Helen Ward: helen.ward (at)

The person making the nomination will act as the coordinator to put together a nomination package (including a CV of the nominee and three letters of recommendation). Self-nominations are not permitted and current Awards Committee members cannot be evaluated.

Timothy Oke Award Nomination Process:

  • Inform the Awards Committee Chair of the intent to nominate an individual. The intent to nominate should be communicated via email to the Awards Committee Chair by Friday 28 May 2021;
  • Nomination materials should be collected by the coordinator (i.e. the person notifying the Awards Committee Chair that a particular individual will be nominated);
  • The coordinator should collect and submit the following documentation in a single pdf file: a) a three-page candidate CV; b) three letters of recommendation (of no more than two pages in length) from IAUC members from at least two different countries;
  • Complete packages should reach the Awards Committee Chair by Friday 25 June 2021.
    The IAUC Awards committee will then recommend the names of 0-3 recipients for consideration and approval by the IAUC Board. Nominations made this year will only be considered for the 2021 award but can be updated and resubmitted in subsequent years.

Two Timothy Oke Awards were made in 2020, to Scott Krayenhoff, Assistant Professor of Atmospheric Science at the University of Guelph, and Chao Ren, Associate Professor of Faculty of Architecture at the University of Hong Kong.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.