Call for nominations – 2020 Luke Howard Award

2020-03-10 in Awards, IAUC Admin

The IAUC is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the 2020 ‘Luke Howard Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Urban Climatology.’

The Luke Howard Award may be given annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the field of urban climatology in a combination of research, teaching, and/or service to the international community of urban climatologists.

The IAUC is committed to promoting equality and diversity. Therefore we particularly encourage nominations for suitable candidates from under-represented groups.

The person making the nomination will act as the coordinator to put together a nomination package (including a CV of the nominee and three letters of recommendation). Self-nominations are not permitted and current Awards Committee members cannot be evaluated. Complete nomination packages should be submitted (as a single electronic submission) to the IAUC Awards Committee Chair, Dr. Helen Ward:

Luke Howard Award Nomination Process:

  • Inform the Awards Committee Chair of the intent to nominate an individual.The intent to nominate should be communicated via email to the Awards Committee Chair by Fri 29 May 2020;
  • Nomination materials should be collected by the coordinator (i.e. the person notifying the Awards Committee Chair that a particular individual will be nominated);
  • The coordinator should collect and submit the following documentation in a single pdf file:
  1. a three-page candidate CV
  2. three letters of recommendation (of no more than two pages in length) from IAUC members from at least two different countries;
  • Complete packages should reach the Awards Committee Chair by Fri 26 June 2020.

The IAUC Awards committee will then recommend the name of a recipient for consideration and approval by the IAUC Board. Nominations will be active for three years, and updated information may be submitted for consideration in the second and third years.

Previous winners include:

  • 2019 Professor Janet Barlow, University of Reading, UK
  • 2018 Professor Wilhelm Kuttler, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
  • 2016 Dr Walter Dabberdt, Vaisala Group, USA
  • 2015 Professor Emeritus Anthony Brazel, Arizona State University, USA
  • 2014 Professor Manabu Kanda, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • 2013 Professor Emeritus Yair Goldreich, Bar-Ilan University, Israel
  • 2010 Professor John Arnfield, The Ohio State University, USA
  • 2009 Professor Sue Grimmond, King’s College, UK
  • 2008 Professor Bob Bornstein, San José State University, USA
  • 2007 Professor (Emeritus) Masatoshi Yoshino, University of Tsukuba, Japan
  • 2006 Professor Arieh Bitan, Tel Aviv University, Israel
  • 2005 Professor Ernesto Jauregui, UNAM, Mexico
  • 2004 Professor Tim Oke, UBC, Canada

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.