Call for nominations – 2019 Luke Howard Award

2019-03-28 in Awards, IAUC Admin

The International Association for Urban Climate (IAUC) is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the 2019 ‘Luke Howard Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Urban Climatology.’

The Luke Howard Award may be given annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the field of urban climatology in a combination of research, teaching, and/or service to the international community of urban climatologists.

The IAUC is committed to promoting equality and diversity. Therefore we particularly encourage nominations for suitable candidates from under-represented groups.

The person making the nomination will act as the coordinator to put together a nomination package (including a CV of the nominee and three letters of recommendation).  Self-nominations are not permitted and current Awards Committee members cannot be evaluated.  Complete nomination packages should be submitted (as a single electronic submission) to the IAUC Awards Committee Chair, Dr. Helen Ward:

Luke Howard Award Nomination Process

  • Inform the Awards Committee Chair of the intent to nominate an individual.  The intent to nominate should be communicated via email to the Awards Committee Chair by 24 May, 2019;
  • Nomination materials should be collected by the coordinator (i.e. the person notifying the Awards Committee Chair that a particular individual will be nominated);
  • The coordinator should collect the following documentation:
  1. a) a three-page candidate CV
  2. b) three letters of recommendation (two pages in length) from IAUC members from at least two different countries;
  • Complete packages should reach the Awards Committee Chair by 30 June, 2019.

The IAUC Awards committee will then recommend the name of a recipient for consideration and approval by the IAUC Board. Nominations will be active for three years, and updated information may be submitted for consideration in the second and third years. Currently there are no active nominations remaining so we strongly encourage members to nominate suitable candidates for the 2019 Award.

Previous winners include:

  • 2018 Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Kuttler, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
  • 2016 Dr. Walter Dabberdt, Vaisala Group, USA
  • 2015 Prof. Emeritus Anthony Brazel, Arizona State University, USA
  • 2014 Prof. Manabu Kanda, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • 2013 Professor Emeritus Yair Goldreich, Bar-Ilan University, Israel
  • 2010 Professor John Arnfield, The Ohio State University, USA
  • 2009 Professor Sue Grimmond, King’s College, UK
  • 2008 Professor Bob Bornstein, San José State University, USA
  • 2007 Professor (Emeritus) Masatoshi Yoshino, University of Tsukuba, Japan
  • 2006 Professor Arieh Bitan, Tel Aviv University, Israel
  • 2005 Professor Ernesto Jauregui, UNAM, Mexico
  • 2004 Professor Tim Oke, UBC, Canada

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.